One Thing For Breakfast For The Rest of Your Life

The District Brown Butter and Pistachio Doughnut

The District Brown Butter and Pistachio Doughnut

I asked some of my friends “If you could only eat one thing for breakfast for the rest of your life, what would it be?” The responses I got were…

1. Waffles
2. French toast
3. Bagels and Cream Cheese (safe choice)
4. Grilled cheese (What?)
5. Crepes 
6. Scrambled eggs + Sausage
7. Omelettes w/ Tomatoes
8. I don’t eat breakfast
9. Mangoes (mmmm… I agree)

My choice would be cinnamon oatmeal with berries tossed in. I could eat oatmeal regularly without getting tired of it. The picture above is my breakfast last Saturday – a Brown Butter and Pistachio doughnut and iced coffee from The District Doughnuts and Bar in New Orleans. It’s converted into a bar at night. That’s a great business strategy right there. Definitely a once a month (if that) kind of breakfast. It was delicious though. In the back you can see them making fresh doughnuts. It was packed! Definitely check it out if you’re in New Orleans!

